GPS from Baker

It’s been 2 weeks since Baker, as I was going through my GPS data from my trip, I found something quite interesting, for 1 second, I was going 50 km / hour, which is pretty damn fast on a snowboard.

Mount Baker Snowboard Trip GPS from Google Earth (Feb 9, 2009)

If you see it on the map, it is #4.  When we just got off the chair lift, there’s a few cliff drops, I guess that was how fast I was freefalling down a drop into powder.

50 km/hour on Snowboard at Mt. Baker - right after drop in from Chair Lift - #4 on Map

I bring my GPS with me whereever I go especially when I go hiking or kayaking.  Not so much for snowboarding because batteries die really quickly when it is cold out, my batteries died about half way through our trip at Baker.  My GPS is Garmin Etrex Venture HC.  It does not tell me the altitude, but tells me how fast I am going and the direction I am going as well as backtracking to where I was, i.e. my car from the hiking trails.

3 Responses

  1. That’s pretty neat. I don’t think I go 50km/h on my board lol

    We were up on Baker on Friday it was pretty cool Did my first black run too! Canyon

  2. Awesome! 🙂 Makes me want to head out and get a GPS just so I can track my data, and where I go. 🙂 Camping, Boating, Hiking, etc… it would be nice.

    I just might look into something like that…

  3. I don’t ride with mine all the time, but have been playing with synching headcam footage and GPS data. Hit 89km/h on my skis two weeks ago when Revelstoke was all hardpack. It’s pretty amazing to ride with one in the backcountry, for sure.

Leave a Reply

